St Barnabas Northolt Park

The Fairway, Northolt, Middlesex, UB5 4SX

The Anglican Communion

  The Anglican Communion and the Church of England

 Rowan Williams, the Archbishop of Canterbury heads our Church. He also fills a unique position in the world-wide Anglican Communion as he serves the whole Anglican Church as spiritual leader.

The Anglican Communion is an international association of national and regional Anglican churches. As the name suggests, the Anglican Communion is an association of these churches in full communion with the Church of England .With approximately 70–80 million members, the Anglican Communion is the third largest Christian communion in the world, after the Roman Catholic Church and the Eastern Orthodox Churches

The Church of England is organised into two provinces; each led by an archbishop (Canterbury for the Southern Province and York for the Northern). These two provinces cover England, the Isle of Man, the Channel Islands, the Isles of Scilly and even a small part of Wales.

Each province is built from dioceses. There are 43 in England.  

Each diocese (except Europe) is divided into parishes. The parish is the heart of the Church of England. Each parish is overseen by a parish priest (usually called a vicar or rector). From ancient times through to today, they, and their bishop, are responsible for the 'cure of souls' in their parish. That includes everyone. And this explains why parish priests are so involved with the key issues and problems affecting the whole community.

To find out more about the Church of England go to our central website:

                                     CofE Logo

Other pages in this section for you to take a look at:

What is the Church of England?

Our Diocese


  • Join us for our regular Sunday service
  • 10am lively mass with music

020 8423 3775
Email Us